Are E additives that exist in some food items haram? Can we consume that safely?
Submitted by on Tue, 31/10/2017 - 11:08
Dear Brother / Sister,
Gelatin is a product of protein that is produced from the collagen of the vertebrate like cattle, pig and fish. The main raw material of it today is obtained from pigskin, cattle bones and cattle skin. Pig products are used more often.
Gelatin is used as a gelling and congealing agent in products. It is used in making cakes and desserts, yoghurt, fruit juice along with medication, capsules, film tablets, cosmetic products, photography and carbon paper.
If gelatin is produced from the bones and skins of cattle slaughtered in accordance with Islamic rules, it is halal. It is necessary to state in the label that it is halal gelatin.
The biggest difficulty of the Muslims living in Islamic countries are those products containing gelatin. If the producers and importers are not reliable people, we can see products containing haram gelatin anywhere. Muslim consumers have to warn producers, importers and inspecting institutions seriously regarding the issue.
According to Imam Muhammad, it is permissible to use the bones of all living beings except humans and pigs in the production of medication. According to some scholars, the bones of the animals whose flesh cannot be eaten can be used in the production of medication only if they are slaughtered in accordance with religious rules and if the bones are dry. "Hamr" (wine), which is unanimously agreed to be dirty and haram, cannot be used in treatment unless it is obligatory; it cannot be used in brightening the hair, gargling and as an injection. (Ibn Abidin, VI / 6449)
It is necessary to know contents of the drugs that include haram things like pig. If there has been a chemical reaction (istihala), the impurity has been removed and it is not haram to use it. If there has not been any chemical reaction, it is haram to use it unless there is an obligation or according to some scholars unless it is stated by a just specialist that it is the only cure and there is no alternative.
In our fiqh books, processes like a pig being transformed into salt by remaining in a salt marsh, manure being transformed into soil, dried dung being transformed into ash after being burnt, wine being transformed into vinegar, the blood of musk deer being transformed into musk, dirty olive oil being transformed into soap are shown as examples of istihala. (see Tahtawi, see also Mahluf, 11/121, 140; Namankani, al-Fathurrahmani, 1/63; al-Khattab, al-Manhal, II/206 Zuhayli, al-Fiqhul-Islami..)
It is clear how complicated and sensitive the issue is. Therefore, it is necessary for those who buy medication or food to search the issue consciously, for those who prescribe medication to act meticulously to find alternatives and if there are alternatives to use the alternative or synthetic one. Especially the Muslims living abroad must be careful about it.
What is essential in things is being halal; haram becomes certain with definite evidences. If the evidence is not definite, it cannot be said it is definitely haram. It is not definitely known whether this additive is haram.
A person is regarded as innocent unless he is proved guilty. A product is regarded as legitimate (halal) unless it is proved to be haram (forbidden). Therefore, a person and a product are accepted as clean unless they are proved to be harmful and haram. Accordingly, it is permissible to eat a product unless it is proved to be haram and if it is written on the package that it does not contain lard. There is no drawback to using the products of especially the reliable firms.
E additives are not haram if they are produced from halal products.
Questions on Islam
- Is any kind of gelatin haram for muslim?
- Is it permissible to use the products/food items that include gelatin as an additive? Is it halal when it is not definitely known that it is haram?
- What is the criterion of permissibility for a food to be aten in Islam?
- Is vinegar made from wine permissible? Are all vinegars halal?
- Is there any harm in buying toys in the shape of pigs for our children?
- Is it permissible to use products like shampoo and soap that include lard?
- Why has pork been rendered haram in the religion of Islam?
- Is organ transplantation Halal? What does Islam say about organ donation? Is it permissible to receive or donate an organ from or to a Non-Muslim?
- Organ Transplantation
- Can we rely on the food items on whose package "It includes no lard and additives from pigs” is written? Is it permissible to consume them?