What are the five sacred things Allah entrusted to man?

The Details of the Question
What are the five sacred things Allah entrusted to man?
The Answer

Dear Brother / Sister,

These entrusted things are the universal values that are necessary to be protected in all heavenly religions: To protect the religion, to protect life, to protect lineage, to protect mind and to protect property.

The protection of thereligion, life, mind, lineage and property are binding things. They are divided into three levels:

1. Daruriyyat (Essentials): They are the affairs on which people’s religious and worldly life are dependent. Daruriyyat is the strongest level of affairs. If they cannot be ensured, corruption and separation can start in a community. The religion of Islam gives importance to the protection of these essentials.

It is obligatory to protect the religion, life, mind, lineage and property and to eliminate the things that will cause them to be lost. Therefore, jihad was ordered to protect the religion, killing a person and committing suicide were forbidden to protect life, taking drugs and alcohol were forbidden to protect mind, fornication and slandering regarding chastity were forbidden to protect lineage, and theft and fraud were forbidden to protect property.

2. Hajiyyat (Complementary things): They are the affairs that people need related to the protection ofthe religion, life, mind, lineage and property, elimination of hardship and ensuring ease. If these affairs are not observed, problems will occur or the protection of the essentials will be risked. For instance, the permissions given related to travelling, the validity of salama and istisna contracts, the prohibition of the production and sale of alcoholic drinks and prohibition of stocking goods with the intention of profiteering are these kinds of affairs.

3. Tahsiniyyat (Embellishments): They do not form the affairs and they are not precautions related to them. However, they are affairs that help the protection ofthe religion, life, mind, lineage and property. Dressing well, obeying ethical rules are among these things.

Daruriyyat forms the first level, hajiyyat the second level and tahsiniyyat the third level. If they contradict one another, the one that is in the upper level is preferred to the one that is in the lower level (the first to the second, the second to the third, etc.).

Questions on Islam

Was this answer helpful?
Questions on Islam
Subject Categories:
Read 362 times
In order to make a comment, please login or register